Description & History

In 1954, the Richmond Museum Association (RMA) was incorporated as a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization and remains one of the oldest organizations dedicated to preserving the history of Contra Costa County. The RMA administers two historical sites with educational based programs for the benefit of the public including the Richmond Museum of History and the SS Red Oak Victory. 

The RMA was established in order to operate as a history room in the basement of the City of Richmond’s Carnegie Library finished in 1910. The building was built initially to be the main city library and became a branch library in 1949.  At that time the RMA was established to administer a room in the basement with materials dedicated local history.

As Richmond grew and the needs of the branch library outpaced the small red brick building, the City entered into an agreement with the RMA to establish a city museum dedicated to local history in the former library building. In the early 1980s, the Richmond Museum of History was opened after an extensive renovation of the building. The Museum boasts a large gallery upstairs dedicated to local history from the Native American period, through the Mexican and early Euro-American period, and culminating with the drastic changes that took place here as a result of the World War II home front experience. The Seaver Gallery is located on the main floor of the building and is host to at least two temporary exhibits per year. Museum staff and volunteers provide docent tours of the exhibits to the general public and special groups.

About the organization

Richmond Museum of History

Contact:
Melinda McCrary
Executive Director
Organization’s website:
http://richmondmuseumofhis...